Traveling Raconteur

Hola! Hope you're smiling :)

First Eurostar Journey: London to Brussels via Paris

???????????????????????????????

1600: As I was ready to check in, I realized that I had once again been in such awe of Georgina’s presence that I was forgetting what I’d really need to do to save this memory forever – an autograph! I have a lot of emails from Georgina and many kind things she said to me are in my inbox forever but I didn’t have anything tangible. I couldn’t believe myself when I met my favourite author last summer and didn’t remember to take an autograph!

Remembering it right before giving Georgina the final, goodbye hug until I see her again, I pulled out the yellow envelope which had my train ticket and requested Georgina for an autograph, she gave the most perfect one despite the hurry.

While walking to lunch, I had told Georgina that I was truly hoping to see snow before going home at the end of the month. I said that I loved the idea of snow and how romantic and beautiful it is, to which Georgina said “it is not always a romantic thing as aged people often slip on ice and hurt themselves terribly, it can be very painful too.” I had never known this side of snow before and I didn’t think I’d be introduced to it so soon!

Georgina had also told me of a wonderful story about a school in Iasi, Romania that was then managed by a ‘handsome, young man.’ Georgina’s latest book ‘The Painter of Silence,’ is set in Iasi. I had told Georgina that I would try my best to visit this small Romanian town, I really wanted to but I couldn’t. I have resolved to visit Iasi at some point.

 

After the autograph I said my final bye to Georgina, with a heavy heart, I knew that it will be quite a while before I see her again. I soon entered the immigration check. This was my first time at an international train station. It was hard to imagine that in just a few hours, I’d be in a new country! And transit via another. Now, I have been on trains before but it took days of patience, poking fellow-travelers, buying almost everything that hurried vendors with mobile carts entered the train in a rush at every station trying to make quick sales, and silly chat to keep us from boredom before we reached a neighboring state or my grandmother’s house.

1615: Fancy International Train

Beyond the immigration check, the station was pretty much like an airport. It is here that I spotted my first large Christmas tree at a train station. Since then, there were plenty of these lovely, big trees everywhere I went and in my head, I always tried to rank ‘em – my own personal ‘Best Christmas Tree in a Train Station/Airport Among Select European Cities’ – I will publish those ratings later.

I was beginning to worry a little as it was only 10 minutes to the train’s departure and the boarding hadn’t begun yet. But when it did, I made sure, I got on the right train unlike in Liverpool when I successfully boarded the most wrong train.

 

1645: Boarding the train to Brussels via Paris, was not like boarding any other train. This was my first train from one country to another via another. This was a big deal to me. A 27 year old middle class Indian woman – unmarried and traveling solo internationally. This is a real big deal because it wasn’t likely to happen but it was happening. I couldn’t help but think of the earliest train travelers and this very St Pancras 50 years ago. I was perhaps there, perhaps I made such a journey.

In my long winter coat, I felt a little bit like those gentlemen in old movies who get on steam trains and are bade farewell by their prim and petite wives. I wished I had a more colourful, feminine coat but that was fine. Only there was no steam

I was entering Continental Europe. For the first time ever in this life of mine.

1700: After checking the train at least a dozen time to make sure I was on the right one, I put my luggage on the luggage rack between coaches and made my way to my seat – 21 in Coach 02. The coach strangely had a lot of middle aged women.

Soon I will be in Paris for a bit before reaching Brussels, where a kind stranger’d be waiting to pick me up and take me home. My heart was full of gratitude, deep deep gratitude for everything the moment encompassed.

I found my seat and was curious about who’d be on those next to mine. It was a young, blonde, homely-looking woman. We exchanged smiles until she asked me where I was headed –

“Paris or Brussels?”

“Brussels,” I said, and smiled.

“And You”

“Brussels North”

The woman beside me on the train was very hungry. She’s a special woman. I do not remember the name of this innocent woman nor do I remember what she called her beautiful village but I remember her words and the picture she painted in my mind – of a small little village in Belgium, the kinds I had only read in books.

 

1704: Eurostar train from London to Brussels, departs from London.

 

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on January 21, 2014 by in Travels and tagged , , , , .

Fighting An Additction

Not One MoreSeptember 12th, 2014
Addiction is a curse one allows upon one's self until it ceases to seek permission. I do not like the idea of a mind controlled by substance. If I can refrain for 30 days, I'd be very impressed with myself.

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 35 other followers

