Traveling Raconteur

Hola! Hope you're smiling :)

Day Eight: Birmingham – Work

I had to be in Birmingham for work. I am not required to be there really as I can still do the same thing online but a meeting/training session in person is usually more effective, plus technically, I was working and not on leave during this holiday. So when my company asked me if I’d be able to make it to Birmingham for a day, I had no problem saying ‘sure.’ Also, I have never before ‘worked’ and paid for on foreign land, so this was a great opportunity for an interesting experience. I was happy to meet with my colleagues and the work was appreciated.

This was the coldest, foggiest day so far. Right after work, I was ready to check into the hotel the company had arranged accommodation in. After a nice, long shower, I wished to get out and spend the day outdoors but the comfort of the grand hotel, the privacy which I have not had at all on this adventure, the fog and cold outside made the decision to stay indoors easy. Also, I had the most amazing view from the room – the kinds I don’t generally have, so I decided to stay put and enjoy the comforts of indoors. The only mistake though, is not going to the pub named after Shakespeare, it was right beside the hotel but I had already overspent on the hotel for the day and couldn’t really afford to spend more lest I crash the budget for the rest of the holiday. If I am ever in Birmingham, I wouldn’t miss that pub.

However, I got tired of the indoors after a few hours, so headed out to check out how far the train station was, I had a train to take the next morning, to London and then to Brussels from there with a meeting with Georgina in between. The walk was enjoyable as it was short! I hadn’t believed it when my colleagues told me that the train station was only a 10 minute walk from the hotel, it really was that short. Perfect! No spending on taxi then!

DSC04791 DSC04772 DSC04778 DSC04786 DSC04788 DSC04789

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on December 9, 2013 by in Travels and tagged , , .

Fighting An Additction

Not One MoreSeptember 12th, 2014
Addiction is a curse one allows upon one's self until it ceases to seek permission. I do not like the idea of a mind controlled by substance. If I can refrain for 30 days, I'd be very impressed with myself.

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 35 other followers

