Traveling Raconteur

Hola! Hope you're smiling :)

Dear Mr Sultan

Dear Mr Sultan,
I’m so glad to hear that you’ve enjoyed the books.
You should know that Thomas Cave grew out of Tranquebar, in a strange way.  It was while I was researching Tranquebar that I came across the story of a seventeenth century seaman called Jon Olafsson, who lived some years at Tranquebar but also made a brief but intriguing trip to the Arctic and heard the tale of the English whaler who stayed a winter there.  It was a good twelve years before I saw that it was a story that would make a novel.
I was never very satisfied with the Tranquebar book.  I felt that it was only a sketch, the beginnings of something else that perhaps later found its way into Thomas Cave.  But I hope it’s of interest to you.
You don’t live in Tamil Nadu, do you?
best wishes
GH.
Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on November 2, 2013 by in Beautiful Emails/Replies.

Fighting An Additction

Not One MoreSeptember 12th, 2014
Addiction is a curse one allows upon one's self until it ceases to seek permission. I do not like the idea of a mind controlled by substance. If I can refrain for 30 days, I'd be very impressed with myself.

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 35 other followers

