Traveling Raconteur

Hola! Hope you're smiling :)

Me

now1Hi,

The author of this story is likely to forget my name by the time she puts this picture here while I am most likely to remember her all my life. I asked her if I could call her ‘sister’ and she said she wouldn’t mind it – that made me smile. I come from a village of 2000 people, very small by Indian standards. I lived there all my life and graduated with B.Com, Telugu medium. I moved to this town Tirupati, four hours away from my home, in search of a job and found one as a waitress. I have been independent and employed for six months now.

I like my job but I wish to do something bigger, more respectable and without a uniform. Though my mother is supportive of me, my father is oblivious to the fact that I work as a waitress in this town. I thinks I work as a typist. It’s only after moving to this town that I learnt that there are no typists anywhere – it’s all computers now, I hope my father doesn’t realize that too soon. I feel bad about cheating him with this lie. I share my concern with my boss, a nice person who tells me that this is the age of progress and I shouldn’t be judgmental about being a waitress and that most people with hotel management degrees want to do what I do. I feel proud when my boss says that but I still wish to study more – learn computers and English. English feels powerful, I think I will be even more confident when I learn to speak it.

Most visitors of the restaurant where I work are pilgrim tourists and are generally nice but some who make a special mention of me and praise me in the feedback form are the nicest. Sometimes it makes my boss wonder if I ask them to write nice lines about me – that’s really funny because I don’t. Some say that I am pleasant and have a nice smile.

I want to do a great deal with my life. I hope it all turns out good.

Thanks for reading my story while the author still struggles to recall my name.

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on January 24, 2013 by in Everyday Stories.

Fighting An Additction

Not One MoreSeptember 12th, 2014
Addiction is a curse one allows upon one's self until it ceases to seek permission. I do not like the idea of a mind controlled by substance. If I can refrain for 30 days, I'd be very impressed with myself.

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 35 other followers

