Traveling Raconteur

Hola! Hope you're smiling :)

Schnapps

image

Schnapps, it’s schnapps we had in the pub on Brick Lane, my last evening in London.

Schnapps, Catherine suggested – it’d perhaps make her Swedish boyfriend a little glad that she had schnapps with me that Sunday evening when we got out together leaving him behind in the house.

Strawberry schnapps, I thought would be just as light as the strawberry beer in Liverpool but not quite and now I know why – 40% alcohol! That’s a lot and our schnapps bottle was quite huge. My first schnapps ever. I loved it, the novelty of the first drink in a random, red pub in London but couldn’t quite finish it.

I had forgotten all about this drink and what’s it called until this morning when I read this poem

How to Become a Tree in Sweden

by Ron Padgett

I look up ahead and see
the trees of Sweden waving at me

Gently they wave their bending heads
The light goes dim above the land

And down below the lights come on
And Swedish people one by one

Come out to shop and say hello
as crisply as a Swedish cracker that

fresh out of the package goes snap.
And soon the air is full of snaps

And schnapps and weimaraners and
me, my various selves united,

for a moment Swedish, a tree myself,
waving and lost among the others.

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on January 23, 2013 by in Travels and tagged .

Fighting An Additction

Not One MoreSeptember 12th, 2014
Addiction is a curse one allows upon one's self until it ceases to seek permission. I do not like the idea of a mind controlled by substance. If I can refrain for 30 days, I'd be very impressed with myself.

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 35 other followers

