Traveling Raconteur

Hola! Hope you're smiling :)

Africa comes to me in a small packet

Today I met Helen who just arrived in the city from Germany. Helen is a dear friend I met in Hyderabad on one of her visits many months ago. Helen was overwhelmed to back in Hyderabad, I think I understood her insane joy better for I imagined how thrilled I would be when I find myself in England again.

Helen had brought a gift for me – oblivious to my stories of meaning to go to Africa and ending up in England. Her gift to me is this necklace of glass beads from Ethiopia where she was many years ago – researching on ‘Climate Change related problems leading to conflicts.’ While there, Helen picked up two of these necklaces – one is with her and the other is her gift to me. I decided to wear the necklace as a bracelet for I already have a necklace I wear everyday and about which I will write a little more on this blog in just a bit.

image

The bracelet reminded me of Africa, Marie and Baby Michael. Marie has been posting delightful pictures of Baby Michael – how I wish it wasn’t ‘either England or Africa’ but both!

image

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on January 23, 2013 by in Travels and tagged .

Fighting An Additction

Not One MoreSeptember 12th, 2014
Addiction is a curse one allows upon one's self until it ceases to seek permission. I do not like the idea of a mind controlled by substance. If I can refrain for 30 days, I'd be very impressed with myself.

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 35 other followers

