Traveling Raconteur

Hola! Hope you're smiling :)

Rabies and Vampires

On our walk to Longtown for some food and drink, Artur exclaimed ‘Look!!!’ When I looked in that direction I think I saw a tail of a dog-like animal.

Did you see? That was a fox.

A fox!!!!!!!

Now I have never seen a fox before except in the zoos so I didn’t know what my reaction should be. It’s not a like a lion or a tiger you know but then it’s also not just a dog. What would a fox do to me? Do foxes kill humans? Would it get aggressive with me? Would it call its pack to kill me? It’s unnecessary to think so hard, I will just as Artur.

Me: ‘Would a fox kill me?’

Artur: ‘No, unless it has rabies’

Me: ‘What! Fox and rabies?’

Artur: ‘Of course’

Me: ‘And is rabies rampant here? Are rabid dogs and foxes in this area?

Artur: ‘I don’t know, there can be’

The danger of walking with a veterinarian is that they suspect the worse. Earlier in the evening when Artur got fresh cow milk to the caravan, he said he always boils it – ‘humans can die of unboiled milk, I can tell you half a dozen diseases that one can get just by having milk without boiling it,’ he said.

Me: ‘So what do I do if I am walking alone and come across a fox.’

Artur: ‘They usually don’t mess with humans, but if it gets aggressive just hit it with this umbrella.’

Convinced and comfortable now with that bit of advice, I thought no further of foxes. But Artur brought up rabies.

Artur: “I see a connection between rabies and vampires. Vampires must originally be rabid humans.

Look at the similarities

– Rabid animals are aggressive, vampires are aggresive

– The most basic and strongest instinct of rabid animals is to bite someone, the same with vampires

– Rabid animals can’t tolerate the sound of water, neither can vampires

– Rabid animals are super hyper, so are rabid humans and vampires.

– Rabid animals have red eyes, vampires are believed to have red eyes.

Artur then told me of an aunt who once visited a hospital in Belarus which had a ward for humans with rabies. The aunt told Artur that nobody went close to them and food was passed on plates, through the gates. Nobody collected the metal plates back – the patients would break or distort them with their bare hands.

‘Imagine, metal plates. Can you imagine the pain?’

Though I had just finished reading ‘Of Love and Other Demons’ by Gabriel Garcia Marquez, I never thought so deeply of rabies.

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on November 22, 2012 by in Travels and tagged .

Fighting An Additction

Not One MoreSeptember 12th, 2014
Addiction is a curse one allows upon one's self until it ceases to seek permission. I do not like the idea of a mind controlled by substance. If I can refrain for 30 days, I'd be very impressed with myself.

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 35 other followers

