Traveling Raconteur

Hola! Hope you're smiling :)

Hello Artur!

The excitement of seeing your trust make magic is monumental, hence it was very tough to hide my excitement of meeting Artur and getting acquainted with his kind and gentle nature. We set out to Longtown’s centre immediately after Artur returned from work so the thirty minute walk from The Fauld to the town centre was great for me get acquainted with my new host. Artur was friendly, genuinely interested and willing to share.

These lines are from my first few minutes with this host who was a mystery in my world until this moment.

“I like being here, it’s very peaceful”

“You didn’t pay for couchsurfing? I had to. (me: why did you pay!) Because I want to be a host and shelter travellers, I like being kind like that.”

“I don’t know why I didn’t go to that Cathedral ever. I go to Carlisle Cathedral every Sunday”

“I studied veterinary medicine in Belarus”

“My wife and son are in Belarus”

“My son loves trains”

“I am sorry I couldn’t come to pick you up, I have to work on the farm until 1815 you know”

“I am alone in the caravan, I have no friends here in Longtown, it’s nice to meet people”

“Why aren’t you a journalist anymore?”

“Why did my profile seem fake?”

“I had no doubts about hosting you – I like to trust people”

“It has been raining for days, it’s sunny only today”

“The farmer was sceptical – a friend from India?! You’ve never met her?!”

“You don’t like milk? I love milk!”

Pity I can’t share the laughter here – I remember we laughed a lot but don’t remember on or for what. Laughter is testimony to a great time and a great friendship.

That spot in the picture of a tiny brook flowing, Artur told me is his favourite on the road between the farm and the towncentre.

P.S. Notice the Couchsurfing badge on Artur’s tee? 🙂

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on November 22, 2012 by in Travels and tagged , , .

Fighting An Additction

Not One MoreSeptember 12th, 2014
Addiction is a curse one allows upon one's self until it ceases to seek permission. I do not like the idea of a mind controlled by substance. If I can refrain for 30 days, I'd be very impressed with myself.

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 35 other followers

