Traveling Raconteur

Hola! Hope you're smiling :)

Yes, Carlisle

After a long, emotional hug with Julia on Liverpool station’s platform no:3, I proceeded to platform no:1 as that’s where my train to Carlisle would be.

This is a HUGE MOMENT.

I AM TRAVELLING ALONE IN A FOREIGN COUNTRY.

I wasn’t alone until then. My brother Feroze was with me from India to London and Julia from London to here but this is a time when I am truly on my own. I can’t tell you how I longed for this day, this moment. How many afternoons were spent in coffee shops, flipping through travel magazines, dreaming of this time. There’s no telling what deep longing I felt each time I watched ‘Lonely Planet’ and wished to travel alone.

On June 19th, I travelled alone for the first time – went from Liverpool to Carlisle and that wasn’t an ordinary journey.

I checked the tickets and the platform several times and thought nothing can go wrong. I soon found myself on platform no: 1 and saw that the train was about to leave! The inspector on the platform asked me where I was going and I said Blackpool instead of Carlisle, that’s because I my first train was from Liverpool to Blackpool and I had to get off at Wigan North West. ‘This is your train,’ he said. By now I trust everyone in England more than I trust myself. So I got on the train with my mighty backpack.

In the train I found a great seat and settled down. Left my backpack in an empty corner but soon realized that it was a space meant for wheelchairs. I was stupid to think it’s unlikely that there will be someone in need of that space. Soon a wheelchair was brought in with a young guy on it, his leg in a bandage, along with two other young men. I struggled with the backpack, trying to moving it to another place but he said I could leave it there, he didn’t mind. He said sorry for he couldn’t help me with it! He was a beautiful looking man, kind and spoke gently. I thought I should try speaking with him a little later, a casual conversation maybe.

I took a seat right opposite a man with an iPad and in formal, business clothes. I checked my watch 2:07 pm. But my train to Blackpool was at 2:12. I was stupid to not pay attention to English precision. If my train’s at 2:12, there’s no way it would leave the station at 2:07, that doesn’t happen in England.

Me: ‘Excuse me Sir, I have a bad feeling about this. I am trying to get to Carlisle and these are my tickets. I think I am on the wrong train. What do you think?’

The Co-Passenger: ‘I am afraid you are. This is not the train to Wigan North West.’

Me: ‘What do you suggest I do?’

Co-P: ‘I’d get off at the next station, go back to Liverpool and take the next train to Wigan and then a train to Carlisle from there.’

Me: ‘But my tickets?’

Co-P: ‘I am sure they will let you take any train. Let me check the schedule here (on the iPad).

As he did that, the train halted.

Co-P: ‘I’d get off here you know.’

Me: ‘Okay, then I will!’

I quickly collected my backpack which lay near the wheelchair and the man on it. I smiled at him. If there’s anything called ‘soul language’ – I spoke to him in it to say ‘I hope our paths cross again,’ before dashing out of the train as its doors closed.

The train zoomed past. And I was standing alone under a grey sky, on a random station called ‘Broad Green.’ Alone. Unable to stop smiling.

And with that smile I reached the ticket counter in Broad Green. If I read minds, I could tell that the two middle aged men at the counter thought ‘What a stupid girl!’ when I told them, giggling uncontrollably, that I got on a wrong train.

There was a train to Wigan in 5 minutes which I took. Reached Wigan and from there, took a train to Glasgow with a stop in Carlisle. This train to Glasgow wasn’t my original train so I didn’t have a seat.

I stood for the next two hours, with great joy in my heart as I watched the beautiful Lake District from the window and didn’t have to be all composed and hide my smiles for I stood alone in between compartments. It was raining and hence not so bright. I saw vast expanses of beautiful green hills like from a painting, livestock, sheep and horses. Horses! The most beautiful image I captured in my head is that of a new born foal in the middle of a farm with an entire family of horses around it. I saw brooks flowing into forests, large rivers with old trees lining them and lovely little villages – every scene a picture postcard in my memory. I listened to Enya on my phone.

Me: ‘Sorry, I missed my connecting train and the lady at Wigan’s ticket counter said I could take this one. I am very sorry about the inconvenience.’

Ticket Inspector: ‘Oh that’s not a problem, just that you have no seat and have to stand the next two hours.’

Me: ‘I am happier standing.’

Ticket Inspector: In silent language – ‘stupid girl’ but in human language ‘Cheers.’

And I reached Carlisle. Found a cab to take me to The Fauld, Longtown with an Indian driver who gave me a 3 pound discount 🙂

Now let’s see who this Artur is.

 

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on November 20, 2012 by in Travels and tagged .

Fighting An Additction

Not One MoreSeptember 12th, 2014
Addiction is a curse one allows upon one's self until it ceases to seek permission. I do not like the idea of a mind controlled by substance. If I can refrain for 30 days, I'd be very impressed with myself.

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 35 other followers

