Traveling Raconteur

Hola! Hope you're smiling :)

The Stables at Camden

This is the farthest cultural shock could get in London.

I believe in destiny, yes I do. So I don’t think that meeting this annoying Pakistani who lives in London and who I didn’t know I would be meeting until 15 minutes before he turned up and said we should go to Camden market, was a mistake. There’s no other way I would have gone to the Stables, walked into a sex shop – not knowing I was walking into a sex shop, watched a young couple in a cage dance with such amazing stamina (but they were in a cage so I couldn’t enjoy it).
Camden is a world so different, the kinds I only watched on TV or in the movies.
I couldn’t help but compare. I only have a few red streaks of hair, just got a tattoo, like rock and roll and like to shake my head to good music no matter where I am, even if in a meeting and someone’s phone goes off I’d shake my head if the ringtone is headshaking-good. And yet I am told I am weird, too individualistic, too wild, too this and too that. To take a Camdener and put him in Hyderabad – that would be interesting. I’d love to turn into one just for the shock of it.
Camden by far is the most foreign experience – do I like it? is it my type or is it not? I don’t know – it made me sad to see things like kids trying out clubbing clothes, youngsters dancing in cages, sex on sale, people whose day jobs are just holding signs that read – ‘Camden’s best piercing and tattoo parlour this way’ when in this world and in that city, a 20 something is capable of much, much more with or without education. And yet I can’t say anything against it for I understand pain, I understand drugs, I seem to understand dark stables with unnoticed, failed musicians and people around them.
The food, the art, the talent at Camden is mindblowing (though I am not sure about these lessons)
Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on November 20, 2012 by in Travels and tagged .

Fighting An Additction

Not One MoreSeptember 12th, 2014
Addiction is a curse one allows upon one's self until it ceases to seek permission. I do not like the idea of a mind controlled by substance. If I can refrain for 30 days, I'd be very impressed with myself.

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 35 other followers

