Traveling Raconteur

Hola! Hope you're smiling :)

Vivre Rire Aimer

A great deal of fictional characters have had a great deal of influence on me. The kind of fiction I read, the genre of ‘realism,’ is full of stories drawn from life. So these characters are definitely fictional, but their ghosts, their replications, their soul brothers/sisters are living on the face of this earth somewhere.

My ever wandering mind takes pleasure in visiting some of these characters from books long read, into my life for a few hours of amusement and joy brought by imagination. I have invited Puck for an afternoon at the park today. I chose the park knowing we would have the company of some hopeless lovers for I wanted to hear Puck say “Lord, What fools these mortals be!” and he did. It sounds a lot more hilarious in reality than in the Midsummer’s Night Dream.

I later took Puck to meet a special friend of mine battling depression, Gregor Samsa who has given up on life, abandoned society and who in turn got abandoned by his family. I told Puck we were going to see a human beetle and Puck should use his magic to make him a handsome man once again.

And so we went, Puck and I ,Puck singing old English songs. Puck used his charm and made Gregor laugh like he did when he was a little kid. Gregor, Puck and laughed all day, sometimes without much reason. And after all that laughter, Puck and I heard Gregor say what we were waiting to hear “Gosh, why am I a beetle? Life’s beautiful with just few songs and great jokes and lovely friends. Why did I ever turn into a beetle.. nothing can be so bad! It takes only a little laughter to make myself happy. Happy is what I will be. And not a happy beetle, but a happy man!!!”

Most often, it is only some good laughter and hope passed from one human being to other that can deter someone from suicide and depression. I truly believe Gregor would turn human again if there was some love and laughter brought into his life. I believe this works on any Gregor in the world – depressed and contemplating suicide. All it takes, is a little imagination to take a Puck into someone’s dark space, and fill it with hope.

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on November 20, 2012 by in Ex Libris.

Fighting An Additction

Not One MoreSeptember 12th, 2014
Addiction is a curse one allows upon one's self until it ceases to seek permission. I do not like the idea of a mind controlled by substance. If I can refrain for 30 days, I'd be very impressed with myself.

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 35 other followers

