Traveling Raconteur

Hola! Hope you're smiling :)

First Letter to England

Date: June 12, 2012

To,
The British Deputy High Commission,
Room No: 150,
Taj Deccan Hotel,
Road No: 1, Banjara Hills,
Hyderabad – 500 0034.
I am thrilled to have won the Hard Rock Calling Contest 2012 and stand a chance to witness the live performance of my favourite artist Bruce Springsteen at Hyde Park.
I am also delighted at the possibility of visiting London about which I have read a great deal. As a BA graduate of English Literature and World History, I consider it a great opportunity to visit the Westminster Abbey and the National Maritime Museum besides the other great tourist spots such as Buckingham Palace and the Tower of London.

I am extremely curious about the festivities surrounding the 200th birth anniversary of my favourite writer Charles Dickens. It is also the 100th anniversary celebration of Captain Robert Falcon Scott’s inspiring expedition to the Antarctic and if I should get a chance to visit London, I will certainly visit the National History Museum to explore more on the life and adventures of my personal hero – Captain Scott.

After four days in London, I intend to explore the counties in England, cities such as Birmingham, Liverpool and Carlisle. Though the accommodation for my days in London is paid for, I have made inquiries at several bed and breakfast inns for accommodation during my stay in the other cities. As per the recommendation posted on the website of the UK Border Agency, I have not yet paid for accommodation, I will if and when the Visa is confirmed.

I am very excited about this chance to visit the United Kingdom, the history and literature of which has always fascinated me. I hope I get to visit your beautiful country this July. Thank you for considering my application.

Yours sincerely,

(Mubin Sultan)

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on November 19, 2012 by in Travels.

Fighting An Additction

Not One MoreSeptember 12th, 2014
Addiction is a curse one allows upon one's self until it ceases to seek permission. I do not like the idea of a mind controlled by substance. If I can refrain for 30 days, I'd be very impressed with myself.

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 35 other followers

