Traveling Raconteur

Hola! Hope you're smiling :)

What this word brings to your mind…

Like Charles Lamb “I could never hate anyone I knew” and never forget anyone I loved. My heart wakes up most mornings longing for someone I have not spoken to in a long time or for places that I once visited, lived in or ‘see’ myself in.

Such mornings are painful. The people I miss are people I can’t reconnect with for several reasons and the places are places I can’t just take off to despite a burning desire.

Memories are God’s greatest and most beautiful gifts that offer a soothing comfort to my melancholic heart by day and moonlight as voices calling me from distant lands and timelines. Comfort or pain, they’re always on my mind – as snapshots, reels running for hours, deja vu, plain words, gentle and forgotten faces, picture postcard visions, queer music and smells strong enough to pull me into the timeline that my mind associates it with, delightful sounds, abandoned objects, names of places… Just a little something and many times ‘nothing’ is enough to usher me into the garden of memories. Somedays I pick lovely flowers with heavenly smells and some days its thorns prick me. No matter which comes to me – flower or thorn, it undoubtedly brings with it a truth – it’s all over and is never coming back. That realization can make one sigh with relief or bleed endlessly.

The mind’s not spotless, hence the sunshine not eternal, but the occasional darkness is much appreciated. 

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on March 14, 2011 by in Fleeting Thoughts and tagged , .

Fighting An Additction

Not One MoreSeptember 12th, 2014
Addiction is a curse one allows upon one's self until it ceases to seek permission. I do not like the idea of a mind controlled by substance. If I can refrain for 30 days, I'd be very impressed with myself.

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 35 other followers

